Feet first

Hi, my name is Zachary Holtzman and this is my first post for CAT-111 at AACC!  Because this is the first time I have ever posted to a blog, I will keep it simple.  First, a little about me.  I started at AACC last year when I turned 18 (College was my 18th birthday present.  Hooray for me…) and it has been a learning experience in more ways than one.  I am currently studying Communication Arts Technology.  My hope is to transfer to a four-year school, where I plan to major in Interdisciplinary Studies, then go on to get a Masters degree.  My goal and dream job are one and the same.

Image

Bungie Studios, that wacky game developer team from Seattle that you just cannot help but love.  Bungie’s origins are humble, and I can definitely relate (It all started with two grad students who turned to each other one day in 1991 and said “What if we made video games?”).  They have a laid back attitude, and only care about making games that they like, regardless of what anyone else thinks and much to the chagrin of their (former) publisher Microsoft.  It would be an honor to work at a company like this, especially since independent game developers like Bungie are a dying breed, giving the industry one last “Hurrah”.  But anyhow, that is a bit far off at the moment.  Game writing is my dream job regardless.  To clarify, I do not mean sitting at a computer all day writing code.  What I am talking about, is storyboarding, writing scripts for characters, coming up with a ‘universe’ for the game (a universe refers to all of the things that happen behind the scenes in a particular game.  Similar to a backstory, but expanded enough to hopefully explain everything).  However, game writing also requires a good grasp on art concepts, since half the process is usually figuring out what certain characters, environments, vehicles, etc, will look like.  This means, at the very least, rough sketches, and at most, actually rendering the object on a computer.  The skills I hope to learn at AACC, especially CAT-111, will most certainly apply.  A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.  College, AACC, and CAT-111 are my first step.  “Feet first into hell” as Bungie would say.  Per audacia ad astra (“Through boldness to the stars”). I’ll see you there friends.

Image

The Cyborg approves of this message.

Leave a comment